Overnight Hike – Great North Walk: Wondabyne to Somersby

“Be brave enough to be bad at something new”
– Unknown

It has been so long since I’ve written – I’d forgotten how to create a post! I will eventually get better at documenting my travels just after they’ve happened, but for now – the mission is to use the extra time given by COVID-19 to make a start.

Back in February, before the world got a little crazy – I finally got the courage to attempt my first overnight hike. This had been something on my 2020 goals list (which looking back on now is worthy of a giggle or two!). While I am quite comfortable going on day hikes solo, I was hesitant to go on my own for my first overnight hike. I was lucky enough to be introduced to a group of hikers through a friend, that have now adopted me into their hiking tribe – for which I am so thankful!.

So with my bag weighing in at about 15kgs – I donned the second-hand pack I’d found on marketplace filled with what I *thought* I’d need for the trip and set out to catch the train to Wondabyne.

May be an image of 1 person, standing and indoor

Arriving at Wondabyne Station, the view was gorgeous – the platform is on the edge of the river and I soon learnt is the only station in Australia that does not have road access as it is only accessible by boat or on foot! Here we pulled out the hiking poles, popped on our gaiters and looked for the starting point for this section of the Great North Walk.

May be an image of railroad and sky

Usually I do a lot of research on walks before I head off – and for this one I hadn’t looked up so that I could be surprised… and I was – very surprised when I found the first 200 metres of the track were a straight ascent up a very steep hill. I must admit after the first 100 metres, I definitely started to doubt whether I was cut-out for this hiking business, and began debating in my head whether to sell my gear.

Alas, after the climb we made it (red-faced) to the top of the hill – I would definitely need to work on my hill-climbing abilities. Once at the top – the walk proceeded along a fire trail for some time before opening up onto a lovely rock platform that overlooked Mooney Mooney creek. The views over the creek were stunning and it was a great place to stop for a breather and take a photo or two.

May be an image of tree and nature

Close to the 7km mark, we came across Phil Houghton Bridge – a suspension bridge that allows walkers to cross Piles Creek. I love a good suspension bridge so very much enjoyed the wander across and the view looking down the creek from the middle. After crossing the bridge we came across a lovely picnic spot where we stopped to grab a bite to eat.

After lunch we continued to follow the track towards Mooney Mooney Creek campsite and got attacked by mosquitos. I had never seen so many in one spot in my life!
After a few hours of walking, we came to a crossing just opposite where we would be camped for the night. The water had been high so crossing the creek was a little nerve-wracking as I tried to make sure my footing was secure – but we made it and I set-up my little tent to become my little home in the woods.

May be an image of campsite, tree and outdoors

Once we set up camp, we began to filter the water for the night and set-up the campfire. We had a lovely evening camped by the fire, talking about this new virus from China that  now had four cases in Australia – at about 10pm we called it a night and went to bed.

May be an image of fire and outdoors

We woke up at sunrise the next day, had some breakfast and began to pack up camp. Leaving at about 7.30 we set off to continue along the Great North Walk on our way to the end of the road for us – Somersby Store. I did not take many photos this day – as I was concentrating on talking my legs out of not giving up on me as we climbed the steep ascent out of Mooney Mooney Creek.

This morning was particularly challenging as it involved some bush-bashing (trying to forge through the trees to find the trail) due to recent storms and rain downing trees and branches over the track. It was also quite a steep climb from the campground moving from 39m to 304 metres elevation. It took us about 2.5 hours to reach the end of the Great North Walk for this section, we then continued along roads for 1km before heading up the hill and finally arriving at our destination – Somersby Store. I was ecstatic to have completed my first overnight hike and celebrated with an ice cold coca-cola!
May be an image of 1 person, drink and outdoors

Total distance: 25km
Lowest elevation: 8 metres
Highest elevation: 304 metres

I had a great first overnight experience – with a few lessons learnt for the next hike:

  • I packed way too much food – I think I ate about a quarter of what I packed, so definitely can go lighted on the food next time.
  • I will never again go hiking without insect repellant – although, being swarmed by mosquitos did dramatically increase my hiking speed!
  • My little Marmot tent does fit all my hiking gear if I use it as a border around my sleeping mat – the plus side to this is my sleeping mat does not move the entire night as it is locked in by gear.

One thought on “Overnight Hike – Great North Walk: Wondabyne to Somersby

Leave a comment